England quarantine free list: Full list of countries exempt from UK quarantine

Today the Government has published a full list of 73 countries and territories where British holidaymakers can travel without having to isolate on their arrival back to the UK. The list features a wealth of favourite holiday destinations, meaning summer holidays could be back on for many.

Previous rules meant anyone travelling abroad would have to isolate for 14 days upon their return to the UK.

The list of 73 countries and territories features popular short-haul destinations such as Spain, France, Italy, Turkey, Greece and Cyprus.

There are also some long-haul locations including Australia, Barbados, Hong Kong, Japan, New Zealand and Vietnam.

Fourteen British Overseas Territories are also included, however, Portugal, the USA, China and Thailand are among the notable absentees.

Read More: Holidays: Travel expert reveals whether it’s safe to book a holiday


  • Greece holidays: When will Greece allow British tourists?

Approved destinations pose “a reduced risk to the public health of UK citizens” but the list will be kept “under constant review”, the Department for Transport said.

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office will exempt the approved countries from its advisory against all non-essential travel from Saturday, while the quarantine policy will be amended from July 10.

That means people who depart on Saturday and spend at least six days in one of the listed locations will not need to self-isolate on their return.

The list of countries has been long-awaited by travellers and airlines alike, eager to get the travel industry back on track after months of lockdown.

Full list of countries exempt from UK quarantine

  • Andorra
  • Germany
  • New Zealand
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Greece
  • Norway
  • Aruba
  • Greenland
  • Poland
  • Australia
  • Grenada Réunion
  • Austria
  • Guadeloupe
  • San Marino
  • Bahamas
  • Hong Kong
  • Serbia
  • Barbados
  • Hungary
  • Seychelles
  • Belgium
  • Iceland
  • South Korea
  • Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Croatia
  • Jamaica

  • St Barthélemy
  • Curaçao
  • Japan
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • Cyprus
  • Liechtenstein
  • St Lucia
  • Czech Republic
  • Lithuania
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • Denmark
  • Luxembourg
  • Switzerland
  • Dominica Macau
  • Taiwan
  • Faroe Islands
  • Malta
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • Fiji
  • Mauritius
  • Turkey
  • Finland
  • Monaco
  • Vatican City
  • France
  • Netherlands
  • Vietnam
  • French Polynesia
  • New Caledonia


  • Rules from July 4: Every single rule YOU need to know as lockdown open

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said the change was “good news for British people and great news for British businesses.”

He said: “The entire nation has worked tirelessly to get to this stage.

“Therefore safety must remain our watch word and we will not hesitate to move quickly to protect ourselves if infection rates rise in countries we are reconnecting with.”

On the Government’s website the FCO writes: “Until 4 July, you should not travel abroad unless it is essential.  

“From 4 July our travel advice will change, with exemptions for travelling to certain countries that no longer pose a high risk for British travellers. 

We are monitoring the international situation very closely and keeping this advice under constant review so that it reflects our latest assessment of risks to British people. 

“We take a range of factors into account. For coronavirus, this includes the incidence rate and the resilience of healthcare provision in each country.”

The FCO cautions “No travel is risk-free” and asks any would-be travellers to check the advice in their area.

Source: Read Full Article