Europe opens to New Zealand tourists, MFAT says it’s a ‘no go’

On Tuesday, New Zealand was listed among 15 “safe” countries named by the EU whose citizens would be permitted to visit the shared travel area.

New Zealand, Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay and China are the non-EU countries the bloc is opening its shared borders to on 1 July.

Read More

  • Covid 19 coronavirus: Flights from NZ to Australia could resume by July, Flight Centre CEO says – NZ Herald
  • Jacinda Ardern’s warning to anyone heading overseas: ‘You may be charged for quarantine’ – NZ Herald
  • Covid 19 coronavirus: Are travel ‘bubbles’ the future for holidays? – NZ Herald

considered to have sufficiently dealt with Covid-19 as to make travel arrangements “safe”.

The list which was decided on by all 27 EU member states was difficult to whittle down. While Germany and Denmark argued for a more cautious tack, while Portugal and Greece argued for more leniency to prop up economies heavily dependent on tourism.

Source: Read Full Article